Are advertised lifetimes of CFLs true ?

I have been buying CFL light bulbs for more than 6 years now. Most of the time the life printed on the package is greater than 8 yrs but I have never seen them live that long especially the daylight kinds and the floodlights which last anywhere from 6 months to 2 years. I’ll admit the soft whites last around 4 years. So what’s the straight dope on their life expectancy ?

Am I doing something wrong or is it faulty advertising or both? I have a house built in 2007 and the sockets / switches are rated for CFLs.

Mine average about 2 years but I assume it’s because the wiring was probably installed in the 50’s.

As I recall from a Consumer Reports article, they are like most products: some brands are high quality and last the promised lifetime, some are low quality products.

You know, I’m not sure I’ve ever had one burn out. I started using them when it got difficult to get incandescent bulbs, and jeez, the price! But they apparently last forever, or that’s what I tell myself. I keep a pack around and replace the old kind when they go. I think I still have a couple of lamps with incandescent bulbs left.

No, I take it back. I somehow inherited an early-model twisty bulb from my Grandpa. It was quite a bit larger than the kind you get now, and it did finally burn out.

"CFLs typically have a rated service life of 6,000 to 15,000 hours, whereas standard incandescent lamps have a service life of 750 or 1,000 hours.[15][16][17] However, the actual lifetime of any lamp depends on many factors, including operating voltage, manufacturing defects, exposure to voltage spikes, mechanical shock, frequency of cycling on and off, lamp orientation, and ambient operating temperature, among other factors.[18]

The life of a CFL is significantly shorter if it is turned on and off frequently. In the case of a 5-minute on/off cycle the lifespan of some CFLs may be reduced to that of incandescent light bulbs."