Are Bathroom vent fans hard to install?

I have a ceiling exhaust fan making noise and, squeaking at start-up. Are they standardized in size? Is installation complicated?

I have replaced the fan motor alone a couple of times. I think it is just a couple of screws and on mine it literally just plugged-in (with a standard appliance plug). Like this. Just have to find the right replacement for your model, no need to replace the entire assembly, I would gather.

I’ve installed or replaced several in the last few years, but I’m not an expert.

No, they’re not hard to install, especially if there is existing electrical wiring and exterior vent you can use. A new one takes me about an hour.

No, they’re not standard in size. If you can find a new one that fits into the old box, great. Twice, though, I couldn’t find the same model, so I installed one slightly larger and just trimmed the edges of the old opening to fit. It was simple.

You can easily find reducers or adapters to connect the new one to the existing exterior vent. If you need to extend the electrical wiring, just get a box and cover you can nail to the joist near the van and add some cable. (This assumes you can get to the old fan from your attic. It’s a bit trickier if your fan is in a first floor ceiling with a finished second floor.)

I had the same problem. I removed the motor and googled the model number, got a hit and bought a new one. I also could have tried a local business that specializes in electric motors but got lucky.

Much easier than trying to put in a new unit - which would have meant tearing out sheetrock.

Installing one fresh? It can be easy, or it can be a major PITA.

Replacing an existing one? Piece of cake!

Good point. To be honest, I’ve fixed a few fan (and other) motors from squeaking by putting heavy grease on the motor shaft. It usually lasts a year or so.