Are there any navigational conventions used for NSEW right AT the poles?

Seems to me (at any rate) that by traditional definitions, if one were to BE AT the north pole, there ceases to be any direction from where you are that is north of you, and also that there is no east or west from there; instead, every direction you could proceed in is by definition due south.

Also seems to me that navigational equipment would not appreciate that and would be totally unable to plot a course to anywhere or to make distance estimates, etc.

Is this an issue that simply never comes up due to the lack of common reasons for navigational equipment to end up right smack dab at one of the poles? Or is there a convention by which orientation and direction can be established in such a situation?

Hmm, flying OVER the north pole seems like it could be a headache also. North is under you. So is south. Oops.

While I have no specific experience with this, one could easily define one’s direction by saying which meridian one is heading along.

I wondered about this too and I looked into it a while back. I can only vaguely remember but I think they plot positions based on meridians - imagine that, looking down on the north pole you take the 0º/180º meridian as the “north/south” (or “up/down”) axis, whatever you want to call it, and the 90º/270º meridian as “east/west”/“left/right”.

Bear in mind, of course, that compasses point to the magnetic north pole which is hundreds of miles from the geographic pole.

Or just take your GPS :slight_smile:

I started explaining geometrical alignments and decided it against it. The answer is you can only go south. For our Earth coordinate system up and down is altitude and doesn’t affect your west, east, north or south direction of travel. Study polar coordinates if you need to learn why.