Are there any ways in which the past really was better?

Within your lifetime or beyond. Not just personally, as in “yes, back then I had all my teeth,” but at least some large or small aspect in which a typical person transported back in time would say, “why yes, this is better than what I’m used to in the twenty-first century.”

Small things: I’m not an expert, but I understand that furniture was much more durable and of better quality, often with types of wood that you can’t get anymore.

Bigger things: it may not be a popular opinion, but I think more durable marriages, and not so many fatherless kids around, was one thing that may have partly counterbalanced all the other things that sucked in societies of the past. Maybe not necessarily in terms of individually happy love stories, but a bit more social cohesion on a larger scale at any rate.

I disagree about durable marriages having been a good thing in the past. Many endured because there was simply no way out.

I think that, maybe, it would have been nice to have fewer options in life–and to know about fewer options. Subsistence farming is a hardscrabble existence, but it means that every single person is important and valued, and knows whether they’ve done their job and whether they’ve done it well. I think that would lead to psychologically healthier people.

Second, I think it was better to be outside more and doing more physical work. Also to not be exposed to so many chemical additives and frankenfood.

I wouldn’t trade my current life for life at any time in the past, though. Modern medical care and social advances are far too important.

Statiscally, the last is questionable. It depends on what period in time you are talking about though, but both abandonment (without divorce) and death created fatherless kids, some people believe as many as there are now. Stephanie Koontz has written about this a lot.