Are You Using Your Degree?

Hi, Dopers–long-time lurker, first-time poster here.

I’ve been wondering lately how many folks are working in the same field in which they received their academic degree. For instance, I have a degree in journalism, and for first five years or so after graduation, I wrote for newspapers and magazines. In the years since that period, though (about 10), I’ve moved somewhat away from journalism as a career, although my last two jobs (communications for non-profit organizations) have involved a lot of writing and I certainly still consult the AP Style Manual. I’d say I’m still using my degree, I guess.

How many Dopers are using their degrees in their current jobs? It’d be interesting to note how long it’s been since you’ve graduated, and perhaps how many distinct “careers” you’ve had since then.

Gordon

Yes, somewhat. I have a B.S. in zoology and an M.S. in marine biology. I wish I could tell you about the fabulous marine biology research and exciting field missions I was going on, but my career did not go in that direction.

I am working as a biologist, but for the Federal government doing NEPA compliance and endangered species consultations. Other environmental work as well (wetlands, aquatic resources, land use, etc.). I do a lot of writing (I like it and I am good at it). I guess you could say that I am a “desk biologist.”

Last year my former major professor called me up to do a research mission with his lab team. So, I took some leave from my job and soent 2 weeks research diving off Key Largo. That really hit the spot! I also angle it so that I get assigned projects with a marine biology component as much as possible.

I like my job very much. I get to travel a lot, all over the U.S. Plus the pay and benefits are top-notch.

not in the least