Artistically-Inclined Dopers..

Do you get excited by great scientific events, such as landing a probe on Mars?

I am an engineer, and remain curious about space exploration and other scientific breakthroughs.

We have a diverse collection of professions here including editors, painters,lawyers, musicians and whatnot on this board. I am interested to hear their viewpoint of these events.

I make theatre and work as an actor (well, work is when I am lucky), and yes, I get ridiculously over-excited by scientific events. By the LHC, probes on Mars, new publications that show us we were previously completely wrong, or just reading the Dope :slight_smile:

ETA I actually never post in Cafe Society. I’m probably a bit weird. But I suspect arty Dopers will be disproportionally interested in science. I do know lots of people in the arts who have no interest in science, tragically.

I am a scientist and an artist. I don’t see these as being opposite or in conflict with one another, but rather complimentary.

Sure, I know these 2 can be complimentary.:slight_smile:

How about others, who come from pure art streams?

I’m a classically trained sculptor and (dabbler) painter. I am always excited about scientific studies, breakthroughs and other real-life adventures. I wanted desperately to be a scientist, but I couldn’t get the through the math courses needed to secure the degrees that would allow me to pursue my wishes. Too bad, I would have made a seriously kick-ass field researcher. Still would.

I am a theatrical production electrician (that translates as “a lighting guy”) who also makes copious amounts of noise in my spare time, and I freaking LOVE science stuff. I do my best to keep up with developments in theoretical physics, space exploration, computers and nanotechnology. I try and remain informed on other subjects, but those areas are my favorites.