Artists Who Rewrite Their Own Songs

Every once in a while, when a song pops up on my iTunes, I’ll notice it’s extremely similar to an earlier (usually hit) song by the same artist. Most recently, it was “Imitation of Life” by R.E.M., which sounds (to me) almost exactly the same as “The Great Beyond”. I’m no musician (I’m a drummer), so I don’t know if the chords are the same or not, but they’ve got to be similar if even I’m noticing it. This just seems lazy to me - the musicians must realize they’re doing it. Of course, there are many songs where musicians steal other bands’ music - “Der Kommissar” rips “Super Freak”, “Sunglasses At Night” has a riff borrowed from “Beat It”, “My Sweet Lord” is “He’s So Fine”, “Clash City Rockers” yanks “I Can’t Explain” etc. - but I’m more interested in artists that plagiarize themselves. Any other examples you can think of (and yeah, I know about John Fogerty’s manager’s lawsuit)?

Well, there’s always Elton John redoing Candle in the Wind as a tribute to Princess Diana. But I don’t think that’s quite what you’re looking for here.

Listen to “Imitation of Life” and “Driver 8” back-to-back, and tell me what you think. :wink:

After the Kinks hit it big with “You Really Got Me,” Ray Davies wrote at least a couple other songs with the same basic sound (“All Day and All Of The Night,” “Till The End of the Day”). And then, a decade or so later, the song “Destroyer” consciously rips off both “All Day and All Of the Night” and “Lola.”

I would actually credit that to Bernie Taupin. It was completely his idea, and was a surprise to Elton. Elton had simply asked Bernie for a tribute lyric, and Candle was what he did.

Bernie! I couldn’t think of his name while I was writing that. I really should have checked on that before posting. Thanks Lib. :slight_smile:

Six words: Gary Puckett and the Union Gap

One word: Nickelback