Ask the ER Doctor

I’ve been considering starting this thread for some time now. I figured now was as good a time as any.

I am a physician who is board certified in Emergency Medicine. I practice with a large group of physicians who cover 4 emergency departments.

This thread is not for medical advice about a specific problem you may or ‘a friend’ may be having, but I’ll try my best to answer any other questions you may have about my field and my work environment.

Do any of the TV medical shows even remotely come close to what happens in a real ER?

How many times in your career have you uttered the words “GSW to the chest”?

What is the most interesting emergency case you’ve had come through the ER?

Have you ever had to treat a friend or family member in the ER?

When do you find time to dive?

StG

Someone in the medical field once told me that of all the TV shows, Scrubs was the most accurate when it came to portraying life in a hospital. Do you agree?

What is the weirdest thing you’ve ever encountered? Have you ever had to call the cops to report an abusive parent, and if so, how do you keep from punching said abusive parent in the head?

And how do you deal with telling someone that despite your best efforts, their loved one has died?

You hear about the incredibly long shifts some recent grads have to pull in the ER (isn’t that who and where?), long to the point of potentially bordering on sleep deprivation and possibly causing someone to not be able to think as clearly as needed in such a critical environment. Have you ever noticed this to be the case? If so, is the problem widespread?

Also, there’s some concern now that the efficency of many ERs is being compromised by the excess of non-emergengy treatment requests by those without insurance or permanent legal status. Again, any observations of real emergency care being delayed because of this?

Thanks, USCDiver, for starting this!