Ask the Zoo Educator

I know, I know – I’m not a rockstar like an actual zookeeper is…

But personally, I think I have the best job in the zoo. I know what zookeepers know, and do much of what they do… but no exhibit cleaning! Keepers have told me that sometimes they feel like glorified janitors.

So I’m a full-time teacher at a small AZA-accredited zoo. I work with both kids AND animals: I take our program animals to schools and the like for outreach programs, and write and teach camps and classes onsite at the zoo.

Our program animals aren’t on display in exhibits, we keep them separate for a couple of reasons (handleability, quarantine, ease of care/transport) and include some pretty awesome critters; among others, we have a Flemish giant rabbit, a peregrine falcon, an eclectus parrot, a bunch of hedgehogs and ferrets, a great horned owl, many snakes and lizards, and a pair of prehensile-tailed porcupines. These are the animals I know most about, as I spend most of my days talking about them, watching them, training them, etc.

Any questions for me?

Yes, I have a question: How do I get your job?

I’m kind of serious here. I have a background in teaching, outreach programs and writing, and have been thinking lately I’d like to do something involving animals.

Have you ever been bitten (by an animal, not a kid)?

Do the animals get to “know” you? Do they respond to their names?

When an animal dies, what do you do with its corpse?

For the meat-eating animals, where do you get their meat? Do you just go to the grocery store and buy beef, like the rest of us?

Do you drive from place to place with these exotic animals in crates in your back seat, or do you have special vehicles and cages? Have you ever been speeding down the highway, only to realize that the hissing cockroach has gotten loose and is walking across your lap?

Also…