Australia and the drinking culture

I lived in Canberra in the 70’s and, while I was a kid and didn’t have any direct involvement in it, there was a strong culture of imbibing. I watched my Dad and guests get pretty hammered at backyard parties, and there was a definite Aussie stereotype of being a hard-drinking nation.

Sometime after I left (1978), this changed, as I understand it. The penalties for “drink driving” (we call it drunk driving) are severe and as I understand it you can be pulled over at any time for no reason and be given a breathyliser test.

So, what happened to change the culture and when did it happen? Is it really that different now or is it just the driving aspect of it that has changed?

As an Aussie uni student I can honestly say that the drinking culture is alive and flourishing, and yet at the same time there are a lot of people who don’t drink, so a non-drinking culture has also flourished.

I would suspect that we are a nation that likes our alcohol, but surely we can’t be too much worse than other countries… after all, we get a lot of exchange students, and the American males typically drink insane amounts.*

Drunk driving penalties haven’t hindered the alcohol culture that much, IMO. There are always ways to get around even when you can barely walk - taxi, public transport, sober friend, courtesy bus, etc.

sigh I need a drink. :wink:

*Though, it is worth pointing out one thing: while here, the American students only have to pass. That is, a mark of 51% is exactly the same value as a mark of 99%. Less incentive to study instead of getting magget…

There’s the novelty factor at play as the legal drinking age is 21 in the US vs 18 in Australia.

What in God’s green fuck? I have never heard of that. That’s incredibly bizarre. Do you know why this is?