Awkwafina untwittered

Seems she’s quit Twitter because people were slamming her for having a black accent in her act. Sorry I’m unable to post a link. Fair? Or can comedians push boundaries.?

Quitting Twitter is never a bad idea.

Here’s a link:

Anyway, thanks for the info, I guess.

Wow, almost the same thing happened to Deah Park and to Dazanee.

I’m far from an Awkwafina expert, but from what I’ve seen and heard, her accent and speech patterns are similar to many young people of a variety of ethnic backgrounds who grew up in New York at the same time she did. Accent is learned, not inborn, and AFAICT she’s not putting on any “fake” accent in her performances. She might be code-switching sometimes (speaking in different ways depending on her audience), but that’s not necessarily problematic, especially if her “native” way of speaking is the one she uses most commonly in her performances.

That seems to be the case. When she gets really excited, i.e. when she’s most likely to speak ‘naturally’, is when it really comes out, which is the opposite of what you’d expect if it was a deliberate affectation. Rather than ‘pushing’ boundaries, there’s a bit of ‘forever foreign’ about what people’s expectations are about how Asian-Americans should look or sound.

This happens quite a lot for Asian-Americans. Unless it sounds like English is a second language, there are often compliments like “your English is so good” or questions like “how long have you been here?” leading to “well, because I don’t hear an accent”. Well, yeah, having spoken English natively your entire life will do that.

There’s an interesting Youtube video linked in the LA Times article that starts with an example.

Is it fair for someone to quit Twitter and deprive others of a punching bag? No, absolutely not. Others exist for me to mock them. That’s just the price of fame.