Baby Bottles Unsafe? Medical opinions wanted!

Baby Bargains has announced that they are no longer recommending the two most popular baby bottles - Avent and Doctor Brown. They have made that change because of a recent study on the risk of BPA leaching out of the bottles.

Here’s the full article.

Okay, first the disclaimer: I am NOT seeking medical advice.

What I am seeking is medical/knowledgeable opinion. How dangerous is this? I have a two week old and he is currently using the Avent bottles. Should we switch?

I’m not an expert on this, but I’ve been following this issue for a while now. From what I’ve heard, BPA is an estrogen substitute. It has been found to cause fertility problems in mice, but studies are ongoing. I don’t think it’s been determined if it is dangerous for humans, but some of the concerns are fertility problems, early onset puberty and higher risk of breast cancer (and other reproductive cancers) in women. There is at least one M.D. who believes that “environmental estrogens” contribute to learning difficulties in boys (Leonard Sax…he just released a book called *Boys Adrift * that touches on this subject).

I heard a spokesperson for NIH on NPR a couple days ago and she did recommend that people switch to glass baby bottles. I personally did not switch (we still use Avent bottles), but my son is nearing the end of his bottle career. I did get rid of all our plastic sippy cups and went with Siggs and Kleen Kanteens.

Here is a column that might interest you. Or scare you.

Also, let me add that Dr. Sax touches mainly on estrogens found in our water supply, so BPA in plastics isn’t the only concern.