Bank regulation

I was cheated out of 3 cents on my wire transfer back in December 2001. The bank got bought out and the new bank says my time has expired . Is that a federal banking regulation or simply a policy of the bank. Are errors on banking statements subject to 60 days time until the bank is not legally required to give a flying…?..

Uh…did I just read that right?

Three cents? So you want to research banking regulation just to be a pain in the ass to the people at your local bank, if I get your drift…

Oh boy, I don’t envy the manager who gets to deal with you…

I work in a bank and am attempting to tell the customer to get a life. For some reason…upper management said to cut a check for 3 cents…And I am mad as hell that someone can call us and make us do this.

Well, I don’t know about where you work, but in most service industries, ‘service’ includes doing relatively annoying things … I know that when I was in the billing research department of my company, I would sometimes pull invoices from five years or more in the past to confirm or disconfirm fairly small credits (although never, I think, 3 cents). If the bank really made an error in its own favor, it makes good customer relations sense (even if not fiscal sense, given the cost of cutting the check etc.) to make good on the error …

Ok, let me get this straight. Your company stole three cents from this customer and you’re ticked off because you have to give it back?

–Cliffy

Wait a sec, Cliffy - Let me get THIS straight.

Cleric: You WORK at the bank and you’re asking US whether your rules are legally mandated or just “company policy?”
next time “upper management” calls, ask them…

If you really work at a bank.

Which I doubt very much.

Okay, NOW you can answer Cliffy’s insightful query.

I don’t know why it would matter.