baseball physics question

just wondering: when the outfielder must make a long, strong throw, why is it faster to throw the ball on the bounce then throwing it on the fly? or is that a misconception?

The ball has less distance to travel if thrown on a line rather than an arc.

Another question: is throwing on the bounce a result of artificial turf, or did they always do this?

Artificial turf brought about plays such as infielders bouncing the ball to first (esp the shortstop deep in the hole, or the 3B on a tough charging play) b/c there is consistant bounce on old turf (see the Stade Olympique) and the throw is a tough one to make accurately - I think that outfielders throwing on a bounce is less a result of turf development than simply the fact that it’s a stronger, more accurate throw on the line, which may bounce before it gets to the bag.

I’m no baseball expert, but I’m pretty sure that any throws that bounce are due to a mistake (if fairly close) or just shear distance if from the deep outfield. Ideally, a fielder would prefer to complete the throw on the fly.

Next time you can catch a St. Louis Cardinals game on TV, watch Jim Edmonds make a head-high throw in from the outfield to home plate without a bounce or having to hit a cutoff man. The man has the arm of a god.

Also, the ball loses velocity with height. It regains it as it falls back down, but at the top of the arc, it is moving much slower than it was at release. This same principle is behind the ‘cutoff man’ system. The time you lose in re-throwing the ball is made up for by the time you gain by throwing in a flatter arc. You also get additional accuracy, which is the biggest thing you lose in throwing on the bounce …