baseball rules - ever checked for consitency?

last week we had a discussion about baseball rules, and there was never a firm conclusion. Well, there was, but one guy seems to have some experience in the baseball rules community and didn’t get the weird special case. We await comments from MLB.

Hey I am just a fan, so what do I know? Maybe there really are 2 ways to interpret this edge case.

But I am also an engineer who has devoted his professional life to breaking down situations and presenting them as a series of rules or other components, testable in the sense that we can be sure each situation is covered once and only once.

It occurred to me that I don’t know if the baseball rules, by MLB or any other sanctioning organization, have been checked for completeness, in that they cover every conceivable situation, and uniqueness, in that each situation is covered once and only once by the rules.

Have they been so checked?

If so, can you point me to the records of it, and preferably the rules before and after?

Are there known cases where the rules can be applied to a single feasible situation in multiple conflicting ways?

I’ve been spending the last few minutes looking at the rulebook that’s available MLB’s website, and nothing jumped out at me. I think that, like any other sport, the rules are constantly evolving and it’s almost impossible to cover every single bizarre scenario that could happen. For instance, I’m thinking that prior to the bird getting hit by Randy Johnson’s pitch, there weren’t rules in place that govern what happens when a foreign object interferes with a pitch that has already been thrown (I still can’t find what the rule is now, however). That’s only a guess, though, and I’m sure that they do their best to make the rules as broad as possible to cover such instances, but, even in spite of that, I’m sure some imaginative person could create a hypothetical for which there isn’t a clear-cut rule.