Battery charging

After seeing the car battery post, and the wrong DC voltage post I feel compelled to to ask about a situation I was in a little while ago.

The situation: Due to an interior light that was left on my car battery was run flat (I don’t drive it much, and the battery is in pretty bad shape).

As I’m a computer student I have lots of spare computer parts. These parts include a power box which has a 12V rail (I’m currently using it to charge my mobile phone which I lost the wall charger for, but for which I still have the car charger)

I think you can see where this is leading.

As far as I can tell most battery chargers just apply voltage and current to the battery with some sort of regulator to prevent overcharge. I figured, if cheap charges can get away without this regulator, why can’t I? After all, the power supply doesn’t supply all that many amps, and I figured (with help from some webpages about proper chargers) that I’d need to charge it overnight. Unfortunately I chickened out worried that I’d blow my last AT power supply.

I signed up to the RAC and got them to give me a jump start, with the added benifit that I can call for help next time my car wont start even if I’m not at home.

A little knowledge can be a dangerous thing…