Battery on Concrete...UL?

OK, many of you know I’m an ME, not an EE or physics major, so don’t make fun of poor old Una for asking this question.

This was brought up by a friend who is actually pretty smart but somewhat argumentative (he’ll even argue with ME over coal power plant facts, I mean, that’s like competing with Venus Williams at tennis.)

He claims that you should never set an automobile battery on a concrete surface for storage, because it will create a “virtual capacitor” and drain itself much more quickly than if you set it on a wood or steel surface. I have tried to argue that I don’t see how on earth this could happen, but I confess I’m not an expert on electrodynamics or electrostatics so I feel like I don’t have a good position to argue from.

I have also heard several auto mechanics repeating this as being true, but have never seen any kind of warning or mention by a battery manufacturer. I did talk to one guy who worked at Delco battery for 30 years who also asserted it was true, but it was a “secret”, and that’s why no one talks about it.

OK, all you auto buffs, physics majors, double-E’s, and mulatto touch-typists out there - is there any truth at all to his assertion, and if so please explain it to me!

I don’t know about the truth of the statement, but as an electrician, I do know what surfaces will conduct electricity and what won’t - you gotta know what you’re standing on after all if you’re gonna play with voltage. Concrete will conduct electricity, and relatively well at that. I think it has something to do with the water used to mix it (I’m not sure though, feel free to call me on that). So it does seem logical for me that a battery will drain when set on a conductive surface.

I don’t, however, see how steel will be much better than concrete, unless there’s some other reason besides concrete’s conductive capabilities that drain the battery.