Bean counters: please explain “depreciation” to me

I’m taking a class called “Management of Engineering Systems.” We are currently learning about “cash flow” and “methods for computing depreciation.” Mystery words I’m encountering include MACRS, straight line, double declining, discount rate and VDB.

I’m an engineer, so by definition I’m a Total Moron[sup]TM[/sup] when it comes to anything financially related.

So someone tell me… what the hell is “depreciation” all about?

I found the following somewhere on the web:

Huh? I don’t get it. Why is there a tax benefit? If I plop down $50,000 for a machine, isn’t $50,000 my one-time expense?

Solid state physics seemed so much simpler… :rolleyes:

>> Huh? I don’t get it. Why is there a tax benefit? If I plop down $50,000 for a machine, isn’t $50,000 my one-time expense?

Nope. It is an asset now and the yearly depreciation is the expense. If you buy a car for $10,000 would you say you are nstantly $10000 poorer. No, you say you have $10000 in the ofrm of a car, and then, every year, you count as an expense the depreciation of the car until the car has been fully depreciated.

Oh, I fergot the tax part. Since taxes are levied on profits (not on raw gross income) and profits are affected by expenses and depreciation is an expense, how you depreciate makes a difference in what your profits are. You may prefer to have more expenses this year and fewer next year, or viceversa. That’s where creative accounting comes into play and that’s why the government issues rules on what you may and may not do and then it takes even more creativity to get around that.