Before computers and the internet, what did you do during down time at work?

At my job, I sometimes go hours without having any work to do, such as right now. Every once in a while I go almost an entire day without having any work. I usually occupy my time by surfing the internet, browsing the dope, etc.

I can’t imagine what it would be like to sit through these long, workless hours before the advent of the internet. Even with the internet I get sort of bored. What did you do? Read the newspaper? Talk to coworkers? Zone out?

I don’t have Internet in my, very quiet, workplace. I read a lot, sometimes play guitar, read newspapers, do crosswords, clean the place (rarely! :slight_smile: ), rearrange stock, talk to myself, fall asleep, look out the window. There’s plenty to do.

Well, if Mad Men is to believed, in the early '60s down time was spent in three-martini lunches and in trying to shtup the secretary. More interesting than hitting F5 on CNN, I suppose.

When I worked as a waitress, during down times we would clean, wrap silverware, cut fudge cake or make & cut strawberry pies. I remember using a toothbrush or toothpick to scour out crevices in the stainless steel counters.

When I was a student, if I had down time at work (work-study jobs) I would study or do homework.

Since graduating college, I’ve not had a job with downtime like that.

I recall that other people with down time would work crossword puzzles, knit or crochet, talk to coworkers, read, talk on the phone, or even nap.

Hang around the water cooler.
Make sexist comments about the secretarial pool.
Talk about sports.
Tell racist jokes.
Knock back a little scotch and read the newspaper.

Read books
Do word puzzles
Walk around
Talk to people
Play cards

It’s not like any jobs I had ever had any down time. The above were more a break or lunch activity. You were expected to clean, fix stuff or help other people if you currently were caught up on your duties.