Best battery-powered tools? Go!

I ask because, once you get the batteries then you may be fully invested in that ‘family’ of tools.

I’m looking for basic tools. Nothing too exotic.

So is it… Old Milwaukee? Ryobi? Craftsman? DeWalt?

I used to be a Makita guy, but about 10 years ago I bought a cheapo cordless screwdriver by Bauer at Harbor Freight and it lasted forever. I’ve since bought a Bauer cordlessdrill and it holds it’s charge longer than my Mikita and Black and Decker. And it’s half the price.

And how does one choose between 12V, 18V, 24V, etc…?

I’ve just recently invested in DeWalt 20v.

Happy so far, but I’m just an amateur occasional user,

I’ve had DeWalt and Ryobi in the past and have gradually switched over to Milwaukee, both 12V and 18V. The 12V tools are smaller for simple jobs, and the batteries fit my heated jacket.

I have the 18V for impact tools and Sawsall etc.

Kind of depends on what you want to do. For woodworking, the Makita cordless track saw by itself makes that the best platform to choose.
For Plumbing if you use propress I’d say Milwaukee.

Depends on which tools you’re gonna use, how often, and for how long each time.
Tools that need a lot of torque, like saws (circular, reciprocating, sabre) are gonna eat up your battery right quick or will bog down with anything less than 18 volts. If all you need is a screw gun or impact driver or oscillating tool and are gonna use them for small jobs around the house, then 9 or 12volts is prob enough (and will be lighter and easier to use)
As for brands…Ryobi, Makita, Craftsman, Kobalt, etc are gonna be fine for the DIYer. Choose the one that is sold at the home store you prefer.
If you’re gonna really use your tools alot then the more robust brands like Dewalt, Milwaukee, Rigid, and Bosch will be a little more expensive but worth it.

I also recommend three things: