Best down payment strategy for buying or leasing a car?

We are saving up for a new car or minivan. We’d like to get something this fall. We figure by then we will have about $5000 set aside.

Is it financially smarter to make the biggest down payment we can, OR, make the smallest down payment we can, and invest the remainder?

I know the answer should be quite simple (I hope) but my brain just can’t figure it out right now.

If it matters, by the fall there is a chance I will be unemployed and we could be a single income family until I find a new job.

(The vehicle doesn’t have to be new, but we wouldn’t want anything more than 2 years old).

I’m no financial expert but I’ll help get this started - how is your credit? How low of an interest rate do you think you will get?

If you would be getting a 10% interest rate on your loan, and could only get as much as say 7.5% from an investment, the money would best be put towards downpayment on the loan.

But if you’d be getting a low, say 4.75%, interest rate on the loan and could get 7.5% on an investment, the money is better off being invested.

Of course like I said I am not an expert at these things, but the anticipated APR on the loan is a big factor I think.

A new car loan will cost you about 6-7% if you have good credit and put about 20%
down. A secure investment for a few thousand will only return you about 4%, so it
would likely be better to put a bigger down payment.
Having said that, you should have some savings to protect against the unexpected.
6-12 months of your take home pay is recommended, although few people have that
much you still should have a couple thousand.
Don’t forget the transfer costs (taxes, registration) in buying a new car, these can be
sizable in some U.S. states, I don’t know about Canada. You will also be required to
carry collision insurance on a financed auto, this is an expense many forget.
Shop for a loan before you shop for a car, have the financing in place so that all is