Best learning experience you ever had?

I was on my school’s math team in ninth grade. It made math fun and I got good enough that I coasted through the rest of high school math - no hard work - very high grades. Did great on my SAT and GREs even though I didn’t take math in college.

When I was 2 I stuck a metal prong into an electrical outlet. I learned a lot about voltage and amperes, and also about the necessary energy required to send an average idiotic 2 year old across a room and into the opposite wall.

Never took the SATs.

When I was a freshman in high school our football team was undefeated. Our last game of the year we were playing the weakest team in our league. Instead of the normal rah-rah-rah pep talk before the game, our coach just kind of laughed and said, “We’re going to kill these guys”.

We lost.

Lesson learned: When you are going to battle, no matter how weak your opponent appears, bring all your weapons.

Cunnilingus.

When I was little, we always used to go to a particular chinese restaurant because they served spaghetti and I wouldn’t eat chinese food.

When I was 8 or 9, my nieghbor forced me to try egg foo yung and I learned something important.

Always try new things. You never know what you’re missing.

I teach high school. I learn new stuff every single day. It’s odd really. I think my students teach me more than I teach them.

I’ve learned some amazing things while in alternate states of conciousness. Once, while on salvia, nitrous oxide and grass, I experienced fully the lives of several hundred people, from birth to death, in about 20 minutes or so. I think I’m actually better able to relate to people now, because I was in so many other peoples’ shoes that night. (Not people I knew, just random made-up people.) That was about the most intense experience I’ve ever had, and nothing in the world could have prepared me for it. Although it was intimidating at first, I got used to it and I am quite glad I did it.