Best Mic to Mic guitar amplifiers?

Can anyone recommend a microphone that is primarily used for recording off guitar and bass amps? Right now, we’re using the line outs on the amps into the recorder, but I want to mix both the line out and Mic signals and send that signal to the recorder for a better sound. I’ve got some mics but they are too “omnipresent” and pick up more sound and buzzing then I need.

Are there any descent, but not cheap Mics out there designed primarily for amps?

Decent.

The Shure SM-57 is a classic choice for this application, and is reasonably priced. And if you lose your hammer, you can use it to pound in nails. It’s that rugged.

BTW, back when I was a sound engineer (a hundred years ago) I never used the amp output for recording. Always use a mike. Also, angle the mike at about 45 degrees to the speaker to avoid overloading the diaphragm.

He “hit the nail on the head” with the Shure SM-57. Excellent for micing cabinets. Of course, for the best recording, it helps to have a great source. Making sure the guitarist knows what he’s doing and making the amp sound as good as possible is key. No mic pollish a turd into a diamond.

Another vote for the 57. Perfect for guitar amps.

Guitar:
SM-57 for sure. I’ve used it when recording myself, and it’s been used for me when I was being recorded by a real-live pro engineer who I greatly respect.

Of course, he did it a lot better than me – which indicates there’s a lot more that goes into it that just the mic, but at least if you’re using a 57 you know you doing at least one thing right.

I’ve also experimented with mixing DI and mic sources, and gotten good results, mainly on clean tones, or sounds I was looking for more “atmospheric” tone, not so much “guitar” tone. For distortion, you want to “move air”. (I play fairly extreme metal, so my views on distortion should be taken accordingly).