Best place to time travel?

Say you are going back in time on a machine that will remain on the same Earth spot where it started (which cannot be on a flying apparatus).

What places have the better chance of being continually empty and at the same altitude for the longest continuous period of time back in history?

I know there will always be the off chance of some person or animal passing by, but let us exclude that concern.

The Marianas Trench. There wasn’t anything big living there when we went.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canadian_shield

I am no rocket scientist but I am pretty sure no place on Earth is ever in the same place twice? Isn’t our solar system orbiting around something?

I think Sapo was trying to address that by stipulating that the time machine remains on the Earth at the same place where it started; i.e., through whatever means, it remains stationary with respect to the earth.

We had a thread about that problem recently. Bottom line, it’s a tricky issue – not least because it’s impossible to say such things as “same place twice” without respect to a particular frame of reference, the choice of which is pretty arbitrary – and depends in great part on exactly how your time machine “works,” so hand-waving that away for the purpose of this particular question seems like a sensible choice. :smiley:

OK, I see what you’re saying. But a stipulation like that renders the whole thing moot, no?? If we can avoid the laws of physics twice then why not just throw the whole thing out the door and do whatever the hell we want?

How is it tricky? (eta: I mean to the instant question-- I have no doubt impossible concepts like time travel will cause more questions to be asked than answered) Since he’s talking about traveling through time, isn’t time going to be our reference point? I guess it just seems too obvious to me and I’m missing something.