Best way to boost my IT career

I’m a programmer analyst with 16 years experience. I don’t have any terribly relevant degree, but I do have a couple of other degrees, including a Master of Library Science. Though only very tangentially, it was in that program that I was introduced to the workings of computers, as they were just then becoming a major factor in library operations. Regardless of that, I’m well established in the field and, from what I can tell, earn a comparable salary to those earned by my technically-degreed colleagues.

With that in mind, assuming that I want to return to school, what would be the best way to kick my career into a higher gear? I"m more attracted to technical programs, because they seem to offer the solid theoretical foundations of computer science that I never got in school. On the other hand, we always hear about how IT employers are looking for “soft skills”, and in any case, I already know how to program. Should I just bite the bullet and take management-oriented courses with an IT spin, even though I don’t find the prospect appealing? Or should I focus on what I really want to do and become a more technically capable programmer? If I focus solely on theory and technology, am I just setting myself up to be replaced by someone in some overseas country who has all the necessary technical knowledge, and is willing to work for one-fifth of my salary?

Take on some technical project management work in your current company. If you “like” it, then you can pursue coursework. Your management will be impressed by your expanded interest and you will then encounter improved opportunities in your current company or elsewhere.