Bicycle Pedals

I am somewhat new to road bikes and I just accepted the pedals that the dealer sold with the bicycle. But I am wondering about the different types of pedals that are available. Why are there so many types- for different riding styles, different performance, different manufacturers make there own type to sell pedals? Or some other reason? What type do you use, have you had others, which do you like?

Bicycles just arent what they used to be. No more 60 psi Giant Chain tubes cemented on 27 inch metal clad wood rims and standard or racing ‘trap’ pedals. It was just after Christmas when a SA with a Very NEW Balloon tire bike met me head on, on purpose thinking he could do to my old second hand rebuit bike, like maybe it would give up the ghost. Unfortunately for him the thin metal rim for the tube type balloon tire folded up like a pretzel. He walked and I rode home none the worse for the encounter.

** Seven Pedals - Whys and Wherefors ** QED?

Very roughly speaking, there are 3 types of pedals:
[ol]
[li]Platform pedals. Just plain old pedals, with no mechanism for holding your feet in place. (According to Sheldon Brown, this is an incorrect use of the term, but I think it’s standard now.)[/li][li]Platform pedals with toe clips. These hold your feet in place, so you pedal fast without having to worry about your feet slippint off the pedals. You can also pull on it to some extent.[/li][li]Clipless pedals. “Clipless” as in, they hold your feet in place without the use of toe clips. Metal cleats are bolted to the shoes, and these lock onto the pedals. They are easier to get in/out of than toe clips. Most serious cyclists today use clipless pedals.[/li][/ol]

Clipless pedals are further divided into two groups:
[ul]