Big Bang - why can we only look "out"?

Right - apologies in advance for any abject stupidity evidenced here. I am not a scientist.

I saw the new hubble photos released today of the farthest reaches of the universe. Nice pics.

This got me thinking. Telescopes look “out” at the universe and see light from billions of years ago, expanding outwards into the void (and for that matter so do I when I look at the stars). Why can’t we look back in - that is, into the epicentre of the “bang”. Everywhere we look, stars are travelling away from us. Surely if we are travelling in a straight line, we should be able to look back at where we’ve come from - is there not a stationary “starting point”.

I have searched for this and found nothing. Apolgies again for any ignorance.

Short answer is that there is no central point from which the universe expanded. The universe is all there is, so there is no “void” for it to expand into. Every point in the universe is growing more distant than every other point (on large scales).

We can look back into time because of the time that the light from those old galazies took to reach us. There beccomes a point however when the universe was so dense that is was opaque to light, so we can never look all the way back to the big bang.

A good analogy is the surface of a balloon. If you draw dots all over it, then blow it up, you’ll be able to see each dot moving away from every other dot, yet there is no center.

Rsa, the universe became transparent to light about 300,000 years after the Big Bang, IIRC. So, as you said, that’s as far back as we can observe.

In a sort of way scientists can look at the “bang,” or what is left of it.