Birds - egg production

I’m a molecular/evolutionary biologist rather than a zoologist, and I was mocked recently for my ignorance in supposing that domestic egg-laying chickens might require the presence of a rooster. Evidently they do not - they usually produce an egg every day, even if there’s no rooster around. It seems that my understanding of reproduction in actual birds and bees is incomplete.

What happens with wild birds? Making a bird egg requires a huge energy expenditure, so surely it can’t be the case that unfertilized ova in wild birds routinely develop into fully-formed unfertilized eggs? Is this just a trait that we have bred into domestic chickens?

Wild birds will sometimes lay unfertilized eggs. I wouldn’t say it was “routine.” It happens rarely, when something goes wrong with mating or the fertilization process. It can be a problem since the bird will continue to sit on them even though they will never hatch, preventing it from starting a new fertile clutch.

Yes.

Thanks both of you. The article x-ray linked to is exactly what I couldn’t find to confirm this. At least I don’t feel like I was being dumb now.

I had a parakeet (budgerigar) that laid unfertilized eggs. I don’t remember exactly how many but there were at least 6 or so over the course of several months.

Quail do this, ducks do this, turkey’s and many others. What triggers them to stop laying is when they get enough eggs to form a clutch, this may vary from chicken to chicken. As long as we keep removing the eggs they will keep laying. I think there ability to cover and incubate the eggs might play into how large of a clutch they lay. In most natural settings a male would always be present so evolution had no reason to discern whether or not a male was present.

Perhaps it’s also sensitive to the availability of ample food.

Not at the rate that thousands of years of selective breeding allows for nor for the total amount of eggs hens are born with.