blues folk and classical

So I’ve decided to expand my mainly rock CD collection with some music recorded before 1957. I have a little knowledge of blues and folk–I like Bessie Smith, Woody Guthrie, Hank Williams (who’s kinda neither of those), Vera Hill (who is singing on that “Natural Blues” song by Moby–I don’t know if I like that or not), and, of course, Billie Holiday. Can anyone recommend some more blues or folk that you think I would enjoy?
Unfortunatly, I have very little knowledge of classical. I like Ravel’s “Bolero” Beethoven’s 4 and 5, and The Nutcracker. Any suggestions here?

As soon as he gets home, I’m going to show my husband your post, ThisYearsGirl. He’s a blues musician, and based on what you’ve said you like, he’ll have tons of suggestions for you. He’s heavily in to roots music, and he’s got plenty of good stuff here he could recommend.

You mention Hank Williams. If you like him, you might be interested in Buck Owens. Most people associate him with Hee Haw, of course, but his music is actually quite good, if you like that country pickin’ thang. There’s a newer group called Big Sandy and the Fly-Right Boys that I think you might enjoy as well. If you like great music with absolutely the cheesiest lyrics ever, check out Junior Brown. The man is an absolute monster player. He plays this thing called a “guit-steel.” It’s a combination guitar/steel guitar. One of the strangest looking instruments I’ve ever seen, but he just sets that thing on fire. Tear the top of your head off, he will!

Can’t help you with the classical. I’m not really a fan, myself!

Persephone - Buck Owens and Junior Brown are both great, but I think ThisYearsGirl is asking for more traditional sounding music.

I recommend “Folk Songs of the Hills” by Merle Travis. His rendition of “Barbara Allen” is by itself worth the price of the cd.