Bonehead Mechanics Assoc. of America

Howdy! I’m member #1.

The ‘tell me about your british car’ thread got me thinking about posting this. While I don’t have a Brit car, I have plenty of experience working on and under and around many vehicles, and have a big circle of friends with similar experiences.

So. Every mechanic has their heroic successes, the ones they’re proud to show off in the bright illumination of daylight. The BMAA is not interested in those. To be a member of BMAA, you have to have a self-deprecating sence of humor, and the cajones to admit it in a public forum. Here’s my story:

I’ve got a 1989 Corvette. Or rather, it started out a 1989 Corvette. By now, I’ve touched, replaced, upgraded, or zip-tied just about every piece on the car. At one time, the brake booster failed. The booster is held in place with two bolts to the firewall. They’re accessed from inside the car.

At the time, the C4 Corvette was a tremendous improvement over the C3 Corvette in chassis design. This was the first Corvette that handled in corners as well as it went in a straight line. The first year for this chassis was 1984…and the chassis was designed in a pre-computer era during the late 70’s. It receives much of it’s strength from large rails that run down each side of the car, making stepover height rather high. (Bringing joy to gold-chain wearing men taking women in skirts on dates.)

So I have my 6’6" frame contorted over this frame rail, on my back, peeking up into the dark cavern behind the instrument panel. I’ve got an incandescent lamp illuminating the situation. The darkness is hot, humid, and only kinda lit by the 75 watt bulb in the shoplight (use 60w bulbs only). Sweat is dripping freely. I’ve got a socket wrench, two extensions, a swivel wrapped in electrical tape (so it won’t flop over), and a 14 mm socket holding the nut so I can gently-place-the-nut-on-the-booster-bolt without it falling into the darkness.