Bonneville Salt Flats

What’s so special about the Bonneville Salt Flats for racing cars? If I want a fast car, don’t I want to test under more realistic conditions?

I’m not a racing expert but since the point is to set land speed records in various classes of vehicles, I would think the main need is LOTS of acceleration
and stopping room.

They (the salt flats) have been used for a long time, so there is a certain historical cach`e involved.

Other than that, you have relatively flat, isolated, area that goes on for miles.

For the real super high speed “cars” like the ones that have attempted to break land speed records and such, you often need 5 miles just to slow down after the run is completed. The salt flats offer that sort of room with very little surface preparation. (Fill the occasional pot hole scrape off the random bump and - VIOLA! You have a perfect area to go as fast as you want.

Compare that to buying and paving a speedway, 5-15 miles long…

Other dopers will have more to add, no doubt… (Where is Tuckerfan when you need him?)

Regards
FML

Think about it. If you want ultimate speed, the last thing in the world you would want are realistic conditions. You don’t have track meets on city sidewalks.

Bonneville is historically the place where the runs take place for reasons already mentioned, but the last two record-breaking runs, including the breaking of the sound barrier, happened at Black Rock Desert, Nevada.

Also, with all the preparation and folks traveling from all over to see it, you want to do it somewhere where it’s very unlikely to rain.

As a side note, if anybody needs rain, they should hire me for big $. See, all I have to do is plan having some outdoor event, and I guarandamntee you it will rain like a cow pissing on a flat rock.