Books about the universe, time, and evolution

My darling Marcie has been avidly watching The Universe on the history channel. She has developed a lot of interest in the Big Bang theory and in the idea of an ever expanding universe; she has also renewed her interest in the evolution of life.

Since her birthday is September 15, I thought a few books on these subjects might make good gifts; along with something more romantic, of course.

Any suggestions as to books would be most appreciated. I’ll deal with the romantic stuff myself, thank you.

Stephen Hawking’s “A Brief History of Time” is probably the standard book about the universe.

Evolution from the beginning, no recommendations; evolution in terms of what’s going on now, I will, as I always do, recommend David Quammen’s Song of the Dodo. One of my Top Ten Ever books.

I’m no expert, but the following two books, read in order, explained a whole lot to me:

River Out of Eden, Richard Dawkins.
The Panda’s Thumb, Stephen Jay Gould

Of course these are pop science (but this does mean they’re written entertainingly and accessibly) and there may be better out there, and some of the science might have been updated, but for a grounding in how evolution works, followed by what it does, I found them superb.

Why Is Sex Fun?: The Evolution of Human Sexuality by Jared Diamond is a cool book

Hawking has a more recent account of the Universe in his Universe in a Nutshell . I really enjoyed it.