Brazil......and America

i am new to this country. I am 17 and i am here for forgein exchange. this town is like my town in brazil. but it is diffenert. i dont understand the people here in your county. it is too divided. like at school boys and girls r seperate. that is very weird for me. then in this county its all about being black white mexican chinese. in brazil it doesnt matter your color of skin your brazilian either way. and there is too many problems here like all gurls wnt to be very skinny. that is also weird. that is y i come to this site because i was hopeing maybe some one can help me under stand this county alittle bit more people wise. im not saying i dont like it here but it will help me alot. thanx
bruna:)

American racial attitudes are very different from Brazilian ones. This is true.

Nevertheless, there is nothing stopping you from having friends in each group. Doing so will also help you understand America better.

As an aside, you’re a foreign exchange student (FES) who likes candy a lot. You’re not dating Mandy Moore, are you?

Where are you from in Brazil? You’ll find that the social mores in this country are very different from what you are used to back home. I’ve spent a good deal of time in Brazil and I can say that people dress differently and act differently. I’m not saying that it is good or bad, just different. You’ll find that you can be happy here as well.

Some things I miss about Brazil, casquinha de siri, moqueca capixaba, and last but not least, farofa.

Hello Bruna:
A few things:
-you have many freedoms in America, including the freedom to screw up
-be careful when accepting rides from people
-you will find yourself very popular with American boys-just start wearing your “fio dental” at the local beach/pool