Bridge between Vancouver Island and BC mainland

Hamster ate the post.

If you were asking if there is one, there ain’t.

I’m no engineer, but it doesn’t sound like a feasible project to me, either.

(It’s a lot further away than it looks on the map.) :smiley:

Stupid hamsters. Here’s the question:

Why is there no bridge between Vancouver Island and the British Columbia mainland?

I recently had this thought, and was surprised I hadn’t considered it before. I asked my friend from BC, and he had never given it any consideration either. I guess Vancouverites don’t think much of the islanders. :slight_smile:

My trusty internet distance calculator tells me that the distance between Vancouver and Nanaimo is only 23km. The longest bridge in the world seems to currently be the Qatar-Bahrain Causeway, which 45km, and there are several more around the world in the same ballpark. BC doesn’t exactly have the oil riches, but there’s a fairly substantial population there, considerably more than in PEI, which got it’s own bridge (12.9km). Also, there are probably much shorter routes the bridge could take than Vancouver-Nanaimo.

So, what’s the deal? Are they worried about orcas and such, or do British Columbians just really dig ferries?

BC Govt page on the subject: A Potential Fixed Link to Vancouver Island

My summation: it’s too deep. More directly: “There are no fixed bridges in existence today that would meet the conditions present in Georgia Strait.”

Yes, we British Columbians dig our ferries but there are drawbacks: cancelled
sailings due to bad weather, the threat of reduced service due to labour action, multi-sailing waits in peak times etc. When people grumble about
these problems the fixed-link idea is kicked around yet again. It’ll never happen anytime soon for the reasons outlined in the page SmackFu linked to.