Bridge Collapse question: How did it all come down at once?

I can understand varying degrees of disrepair. That bridge did not receive a clean bill of health last time it was looked at. At least that is what I garnered from the news this morning.

But does anyone know how the whole thing came down at once? I can see a section of it coming down, but the whole damn thing?

Am I being whooshed by basic engineering?

It looked to me like there were two spans - a long one over the river, and a shorter one. If the main span failed at the far end, the weight of the bridge would have pulled the rest of it across and disconnected it from the other side, using the “short-span” support as a pivot.

In any structure, when one component fails, load is transferred onto the others - it looks to me (and I’m not an expert, nor am I intimate with the specific design of this bridge) as though an initial failure in one place may have resulted in a cascade effect where the redistributed load took the adjacent components beyond their limits, causing them to fail too, resulting in even more load on even fewer components, and so on, until the whole thing comes crashing down.

In the thread over on MPSIMS (sorry no link) someone posted a structural report carried out on the bridge that said it was a “non-redundant structure”, i.e. if one bit breaks, the whole lot breaks.

A common problem is that a load is being shared across multiple supports. If one or more of those supports fails, the remaining supports have to deal with a sudden increase in load. This can produce a cascading sequence of failures.