Burning a Tree

I just finished watching WB’s show Supernatural.
Towards the end of this episode, a tree integral to the worship of a minor Norse diety was set on fire with the intention of harming the tree in such a fashion as to prevent further manifestations of said diety.
Fair enough, since I’m not an expert in Norse mythology, I’ll let killing the tree get rid of the diety in question.
The method of burning appeared to be pouring a 2-gallon gasoline container on the tree and then lighting the tree from the bottom with an improvised torch.
Assuming a 12 foot apple tree, would that work?
I’m assuming that the surface area/volume equation is such that there’s no way that would burn the tree down.
Would burns like that be lethal at all, even over a long term?

Disclaimer: This was a TV show. I have no current gripes with any minor Norse dieties. I don’t have any intention of burning down any real-life trees, and if I need to dispose of a tree on my property I’ll let a licensed professional do it. If I need to wage war on any minor Norse dieties in the future, I’ll hire that out to professionals as well.