Bush's approval ratings: what changed?

Inspired by this thread.

So, Bush’s approval ratings have gone from some of the highest in history (just after the terrorist attacks), to some of the lowest – the numbers being kicked around in that thread range from 19 to 30 percent. For as long as I’ve been aware of it, this fact has left me profoundly confused, and I’m hoping the Dope can shed some light on the particulars.

Now, I can certainly understand the reasoning beind disliking Bush; hell, I have a lifelong subscription to the newsletter. The confusing part is that these ratings, combined with the fact that he did manage to win the 2004 election by however narrow a margin, mean that a significant portion of the people who voted for him then don’t approve of him now. My question:

What did these people think he was going to do?

It’s not like his positions or methods have changed since his first term. He’s still escalating the same conflicts he started, coming down in favor of “national security” over civil liberty whenever the question comes up, and practicing hardline neoconservative big-business economics. If you supported it then, why wouldn’t you support it now? What was the wake-up call? Was three years not long enough to get out of the post-9/11 “America good->Bush=America->Bush good” haze, but seven did the trick? Is hating Bush just the trendy thing to do, causing some people to jump to a different bandwagon?

I’ve not yet found a Bush-basher in meatspace who’ll cop to having voted for him, so my question remains unanswered…and despite the undertone of snark in its asking, I truly am interested in the answer. I honestly can’t fathom what expectations people might reasonably have had of Bush in 2004, based on his past perforance, that he deviated from his course and failed to meet.