But I'm an ARTIST! No, you're a barista

I won’t go into the specifics of the asshattery* I had to put up with yesterday, but here’s the jist of my complaint. It’s a bit scattered, but you’ll get the point.

I feel that I’m a pretty creative person. As a hobby I paint, make music (thank you Propellerhead Reason) and am (to toot my own horn) pretty skilled when it comes to interior design.

But professionally, I’m an accountant. I didn’t necessarily want to be an accountant. I wanted to be an astronaut when I was little, but I mean, come on …who grows up thinking “I wanna know the ins and outs of double entry accrual accounting!”?
I wanna reconcile the double declining depreciation method to Einstein’s theory of relativity” So that if we have two identical assets, but one asset is traveling at the speed of light, does it depreciate at the same rate as it’s identical counterpart here on Earth?
NO, that’s not quite what I was thinking when I was just a wee tater-tot.

NO, I chose accounting, because I don’t know what the fuck I’m doing with my life, but felt it better to at least have a marketable skill to know while I sort all that out.

Yet I’m often derided by some of the more “creative” twits that inevitably seep into my social circle for not being “creative enough”.

Excuse me for having a career and not resigning myself to a life of “unworthy” jobs because I’m REALLY SOMETHING MUCH BETTER.

Artistic fucks who manage to not only demean me but to also disennoble the service industry really get under my skin. “Well yeah, I’m a waiter, but I’m REALLY an actor”

And I could certainly do without comments like these:

"You’ve sold out man!"
Sold out? To whom? Jeezy don’t you think if I were to “sell out” I’d ask for a bit more. Cuz accountancy is such a lucrative profession!

"You’re just workin’ for THE MAN"
Just who the fuck is “THE MAN”? …and where do you work again? STARBUCKS, yeah* I’M * working for “THE MAN”! :rolleyes:

"But you don’t look like and accountant"