Buying an apartment

Ok, my whole family has either rented houses, temporarily, or bought them, so I have no experience to draw on here. After reading an article on condos sales falling in the LA Times, I have a few questions on a related subject. Why would someone buy an apartment? What happens if owner of said apartment decided to tear it down and build a parking garage?

People buy apartments so they can combine the benefits of homeownership (equity, tax deductions, good credit) with living in an apartment (no lawn to mow, living downtown, and a lovely view of the 900 square miles of asphalt that is Los Angeles.)

I don’t really understand the second part of your question – are you asking if the owner of a condo unit can build whatever he wants in his space? In general, the answer is no, because there is an agreement with the condo association or co-op that specifies what kind of renovations are permitted, and how the common areas of the building are to be maintained.

ETA: Another common reason to buy apartments is as an investment property to rent out to tenants. This can be a much more accessible real-estate investment as compared to buying a house or an entire building.

Well, the building owner no longer has the option of disposing of the building once some or all of it has been converted to condos. Every person who buys an apartment becomes a joint owner of the property.

Presumably someone might want to buy an apartment/condo as a stepping stone to actual house ownership.

Right, you might own it as far as the studs, for example, and won’t be able to convert the actual structure to anything else.

If the owner of the whole complex wanted to do something else with the land, I would assume they would buy back the condos? But doesn’t a whole association own the complex?

It depends on how the legal structure is set up.