buying foreclosed houses

A friend of mine has inherited some money. She’s a really great interior decorator who works with some brilliant architects. She wants to try that thing you hear about on latenight TV: buying auctioned houses, fixing them up, and then selling them. Is that a scam? or is it a good idea? if so, how do you go about it?

I’m no expert in the field, but I did find some cheaper houses on the market several years ago when I was house hunting. The houses that you are going to get a real deal on are the “fixer-upper” type houses. In this case, you usually need to be more of a handyman than an interior decorator. Can your friend hang drywall? Can she fix plumbing and electrical problems?

Some examples that I looked at, and rejected because the house had to be “livable” when we moved in (I didn’t mind doing work on the house, but Mrs Geek and the kids had to survive in it):

House #1: Kitchen looked like it was from the 1940’s. Ancient appliances, old cabinets with missing doors, lenoleum on floor was peeling up badly. Bedrooms desperately needed painting. Some interior doors were missing. Basement was half dirt floor, needed concrete poured. It didn’t have enough bedrooms for me, and the kitchen was too far gone. Otherwise it was a really good house (structurally) at a really good price. I’d call it an ideal candidate for a fix-up and re-sell.

House #2: Someone had removed a wall to combine the living room and dining room into one big room. Unfortunately it was a supporting wall (meaning it held up part of the 2nd floor). Roof was sagging. I didn’t bother to look at much else. Stay away from homes with serious structural damage.