C# vs C++, .NET vs VS 6.0

Hi all,

I have been using and learning C++ for a number of years and have been wondering if C# is worth picking up. Anyone with experience with both C# and C++ care to comment on the differences between C++ and C#, and whether C# is worth the time?

Another related question is Visual Studio .NET. Is there any reason to upgrade from Visual Studio 6 to Visual Studio .NET, especially pertaining to MFC and Visual Basic?

Many thanks in advance!

I’m primarily a C++ coder who recently decided to do a project in C#, using VS.NET 2003.

I had my choice of languages to code in, and ultimately chose C# for my project because it offered a lot of the flexibility of C++, without a lot of the gotchas that you’re constantly worried about. I don’t have to remember to delete objects or close pointers; the environment picks that up for me. I can pass values by ref (ie, pass around pointers) but it’s not quite so raw as C++ is. IMO C# offers some of the simplicity of VB without the idiotic syntax (hey, I’m a C coder, VB is just not as elegant IMO) along with some (but not all) the power of C++.

Things I miss most are macros. I like wrapping up things like error checking in macros, and C# doesn’t support them. I also like #defining constants, and it doesn’t support that.

Things I don’t miss are having to have separate .h and .c files. C# uses one file to both declare and define methods and function. Scoping is easier too.

I’m not sure how C# would stand up to a really big project, but for what I’m doing (a GUI app with a DB backend) it’s significantly eased the development time.