Cake Decorating

I’m thinking of learning a new skill, cake decorating! One can never have too many hobbies, right?

I can do some really basic decorating, and I’m a good baker, but I want to learn more. Wilton offers classes, at a few places near me, so I may start there - has anyone done this? Worth the money/time?

I’m also fishing for some more immediate cake advice - I’m planning on making something fancy-looking for a Halloween party I’m having. Simple, but interesting - I want to do a two-tiered cake, probably square, with spider webs. But I don’t know what the best way to do spider webs would be. I don’t want to do something like this, which looks cool, but isn’t at all what I’m going for. I want it to look more like this, but maybe more like it’s been draped on the cake, rather than drawn on with icing. And black, since the frosting is going to be light (pale purple, or white if I can’t get a purple I like)

I’m not averse to using fondant for the web, I’m just not sure what the best way to do this would be.

First of all, good for you. It’s cool to be able to decorate cakes, combining artistry and skill in one package. It’s a skill that evokes considerable amazement and respect.

Be prepared to spend time practicing, it is harder than it looks. If you remember what it was like in elementary school to practice tracing outlines of letters when you were learning to write the alphabet, it’s a lot like that. A lot of slow, deliberate, focused effort and repetition. Eventually you’ll get the hang of it and it will become much easier.

One tip: buy a big can of cheapo shortening. If you warm it up very slightly it’s about the same texture as buttercream frosting, you can practice piping with it and re-use it almost endlessly.

Thanks for the advice, and the shortening tip! As a bonus, I won’t be tempted to eat it while I’m practicing :smiley: