Can a designer use the design they made for you for their own purposes?

Seems like a simple question but I am curious if there is a simple answer.

I recently hired a designer to make a logo for me for a blog I run. However, the designer recently used the exact same logo design for her own site.

I’m not going to complain or anything, but was just curious if this sort of thing is copyright infringement/etc.

Does this extend to all services? If I provide a service for someone, can I also use the product of that service for my own ends?

Don’t know about the legality of this, but it certainly isn’t ethical. I am an artist, and have designed many logos for people. Once they accept it and pay for it, it’s theirs, not mine. I would never use it for my own purposes.

It depends on the contract that you signed, but unless you both agreed to it upfront, it’s unethical.

I was under the impression is that the default is for the artist to retain the copyright to a work unless there is a contract that says otherwise.

Just ask Bill Gates.

IANAL either, but if there is a signed contract before the work starts that calls for the design of a logo, then I’d assume that the work is a work-for-hire and the copyright would belong to the party paying the artist.

I’ll be a little more specific. Everyone would be saying “Bill who?” if you couldn’t reuse the material created for others except when there’s an explicit contract stating otherwise.

Apparently that would be a bad assumption. Having done some more reading on this, a work-for-hire situation only exists if a) the work is one of nine types covered by copyright law AND b) the two parties have a written agreement stating that it is a work for hire. If a) doesn’t apply then merely calling it a work for hire is not sufficient and the client must have it written into the contract that copyright ownership is assigned to them. Otherwise, the creator of the work retains copyright ownership.