Can a neighboring city enforce their codes on me?

I live on the edge of another town and received a letter from them saying my grass was too high. (Which it was cause I forgot to mow). The interesting thing is that I live right on the border of a larger city that sent me the notice, althought had my address with my town on it. How can a different city enforce their codes on me if I am not in their borders?

Are you in their jurisdiction? If not, I don’t see as how you have a problem. Of course, I’m not a lawyer so maybe some legal types could come up with a way that jurisdiction could exercise some kind of extra-territorial stuff. The only thing I can imagine (and it’s mere speculation on my part) is that maybe they’re telling you that your grass is too high for some kind of fire code and you just so happen to be in their fire protection district (i.e., in their jurisdiction).

It does remind me of one episode of Green Acres, though.

I don’t know if this applies to you, but zip code boundries don’t always follow city boundries. It is possible to actually live in City A but have a City B address. For example, there is a large part of Phoenix that has a Scottsdale zip code. People living there have Scottsdale mailing addresses but actually live within the Phoenix city limits. Have you checked your location against a city limits map?

More likely is the fire district you’re in. Many counties in the U.S. are pool their firefighting resources and divide the area into districts. These districts don’t necessarily follow municipal boundries. Your long grass may have been reported on a routine fire inspection and they probably send notices from one office to avoid increased bureaucracy.

Well I know I am not on their tax map.