Can a student sue their school over rampant, unchecked cheating?

It’s that time of year again–everyone’s planning their first round of exams.

In a pow-wow over how to conduct our Physics 101 prelim, one of the professors suggested several methods that, while they were unlikely to stop the determined cheater, were highly visible anti-cheating measures that would reassure non-cheaters who were nervous about the honesty of their fellow students, to, as he put it, prevent them from slapping us with a lawsuit.

Now, for many years as a TA, I have watched in dismay as cheaters were given slaps on the wrist, and now that I’m a professor in my own right–okay, okay, lecturer, but I’m running my own class, is the point–I try to take reasonable measures to prevent the most common methods of cheating, and have resolved not to tolerate it if it is discovered. It was with great glee that last semester the Physics 101 team awarded a student who cheated heinously on the final with a big fat F for the semester. But my reasons for hating cheating so much stem mostly from the disrespect it shows to the cheater’s classmates, not a fear of being sued!

I have never heard of a lawsuit against a school that was too lax in the academic integrity department, nor have Higher Powers ever attempted to impress upon me that this was a real possiblity I should be worried about. Sexual harassment suits? Yes. Suits over discrimination by race, creed, or physical or mental disability? Ooooh, yes. But getting sued for not stopping cheaters? Never heard of it!

Anyone else?

I just want to say that I think this is a great question and I look forward to hearing the answer.

I think it would be a concern, especially in highly competitive classes that are marked on a curve. If so many people are cheating that honest students have their marks significantly lowered, then I could imagine that a student might be able to sue the school for failing to stop the cheating.