Can brain tissue get sunburned?

I recently saw a comic book character (one in a long line of similar characters) who has a transparent dome for a cranium, exposing her brain beneath. As per the course for such fashion, she’s of course completely lacking dura mater, to better serve the aesthetic function.

Now, musing over the possible medical complications of having your brain exposed in such a fashion, the question occurred to me: can brain tissue get sunburned? Assuming the skull dome didn’t provide sufficient protection.

Now, I’m not a medical expert, but I’m of the understanding that a “sunburn” is simply the result of excessive ultraviolet radiation exposure. And thus, any living tissue would be susceptible to the same.

But I don’t technically know for sure, so I figure I should ask. Although I doubt that anyone here has any kind of firsthand or scientific experience in exposing human innards to excessive sunlight. (Or at least I kinda hope not)

So, stupid, silly, gross question, with a seemingly obvious answer, but I’d like to check with the experts to be sure. Can anyone enlighten my mind—very non-literally, hopefully?

This one?

On the nosey!

(Olfactory bulb?)

I don’t think you’ll get anything but the intuitive answer, it’s not likely to be actually studied. Also, my guess would be that the damage would be permanent.

I think that’s the case, and further, the purpose of pigmentation in your skin is to soak up the UV light with relatively little damage. So exposing a part of your body with no pigmentation to the sun would be disastrous.

A while back, there was a fad of “perenium tanning”, where you drop trow, bend over, and let the sun shine where it typically doesn’t. This area has little pigmentation and is not intended to be exposed to the sun, so this is a really bad idea.

This seems to be completely at odds with the fad of anal bleaching (safe for work link, but probably only just…)