Can I deduct professional work done for charity from my taxes?

I am a designer and this year I have done some free/steeply discounted work for charities. Can I deduct the difference between my regular fees and what I actually charged? On the one hand, I figure Uncle Sam is not about to give you a break for money you could have made; on the other, I could just charge them $500 and donate it back to them and get around it that way, so maybe they’ll let you deduct it if you could work around it that easily.

Deducting travel and expenses doesn’t really help me, since I don’t need to travel to do the work and I already deduct the materials I need for work.

IANATEBIDTSTCAGAETTMMSHAITTLAACOS* But the answer is no. You can deduct actual out of pocket expenses; gas milage, materials purchased, your stuff used up, etc.

If the amount of all your chartiable deductions are small, $5-600ish and your return is otherwise not very complicated, go ahead and deduct it. The worst that will happen is that they deny it.

I believe you can charge and then donate it.

*I am not a tax expert but I did take several tax classes and got As even though they made my stomach hurt and I thing tax laws are a crock of shit.

I do discounted work (veterinary) for several shelters and my accountant has us keep track of the difference between full cost and what I charge them. I believe we deduct the difference somehow (I never actually look over the tax papers, just sign them).

OTOH for rabies clinics I usualy take the money, deduct for the cost of equipment, then hand the sponsors the difference as a donation.

I don’t think you can deduct the difference. I know for sure that you cannot do FREE work for a charity and deduct the value of your work, so I don’t see why you should be able to deduct the difference between what you charge them and what you charge for-profit clients.

I think the only way to get around it is to charge the full amount and then donate X amount to the charity.