Can I have a spinal tap now, to re-inject later if I become unhealthy?

Coworkers were discussing the topic of spinal taps.

Now, I am young, not so bright, and reasonably healthy. Is it possible to have a spinal-tap now, and then have the fluid cryogenic-ally frozen? I wonder if I become sick later in life, whether a doctor can then re-inject my spine with the healthy fluid, bringing me back into good health.

Maybe this could be the next treatment that beats stem cells?

Why are you ascribing miraculous properties to spinal fluid? I mean, it is one of your precious bodily fluids, but it’s not a cure-all.

Well, I am not familiar with which sorts of diseases or disorders affect your spinal fluid, but I want to be able to try to fight them later on in life. I think it would be a worthwhile procedure now that I am young.

I have some questions here:

What illnesses are treated with (re)injections of cerebrospinal fluid? I’m not a doctor, but I’m not aware of any.

How long can CSF be preserved once extracted?

Do you realize how painful lumbar punctures are supposed to be? Here’s the needle.

CSF is water with a little bit of sugar and a little bit of protein in it. Maybe a few white cells. It’s boring and empty.

Perhaps the OP is confusing a spinal tap with a bone marrow extraction? Banked bone marrow could conceivably be reintroduced into a person who later developed a leukemia. Bone marrow is much more interesting than CSF, it’s basically an immune system factory that also makes blood and platelets.

I was not confusing the two. I want to have a vial of CSF for later.

On the topic of bone marrow transplants, now that sounds like a very painful procedure. What is the shelf life of bone marrow? I would rather keep mine for later, as greedy as that sounds.

Cerebrospinal fluid is “turned over” 3 times a day.

I can’t imagine something that is cycled that heavily being something that is unique for preserving health.