Can I Have My Pay Donated Directly to a Third Party Recipient?

Let’s say that I’m fabulously wealthy and don’t need the money. Nevertheless, my services are in demand, to the point that someone would pay me for them. For example, I’m commissioned to do a work of art for $50,000.

Now, if I take the money and then donate it to my favorite charity, income taxes will be paid on it, and then the amount I donate to charity will be less than the original $50K.

So let’s say I tell my patron to send the $50K directly to the charity in payment of my services. Uncle Sam doesn’t get a cut. Or does he?

Does this sort of thing go on? And if so, is the money still taxed?

Note: This is all hypothetical. I really DO need the money, and I’m not an artist anyway.

Would not your patron already have paid tax on the $50,000? If he were taxed at 25%, he’d have had to earn $62,500 to pay you - or the charity - that $50,000.

I think two different things are being confused – the pay to the artist and the pay to the patron who has the money to pay the artist. Plus there is sales tax to consider in most cases.

If Pattie pays Artie $50,000 for some work, normally Artie has to pay income tax on that income. Let’s assume Artie is in the 25% tax bracket. If they are in New Jersey, the state also wants 6% in state sales tax. This has nothing to do with whether Pattie had already paid income tax for whatever he did to earn the money that enabled him to have it in order to buy the painting.