Can my employeer ask for my Auto Insurence?

Basically i am a student assistant, through Sacramento State University, I am employed by them but am working for the Department Of General Services for the State Of California. My manager asked me for my Drivers license and insurance information. I was not comfortable with this so i called Human Resources at Sac State asking about this and they told me it is not something that should be asked for. The State is self insured and my insurance would not cover a state vehicle anyways. I was told it was illegal for her to ask me this. Is it?

It may be a requirement for some government jobs–they often have to document their employees more rigorously. I was a government contractor for a while and had to provide license, proof of insurance, and current registration documentation to get a parking sticker.

I’m sure it is required if you will ever need to run a work errand in your personal vehicle.

But it would only be under our state owned vehicles, we cant use our own, only State Cards

Surely they still need to know that you are licensed to drive? Or that you haven’t been banned. They may also be thinking of asking you to do something on your way in to work or on your way home.

Is driving part of your job?

Here’s a more complete response -